Biryani at its best at Tipu Sultan!

Tipu Sultan is a new kid on the block, specializing in Awadhi Cuisine, which although isn’t underrated but is still quite rare in the Delhi food industry. This place is all about food. Of course the menu is quite expansive with some great options for both vegetarians and non-vegetarians, including delicacies like tikkas, kebabs and biryanis. Being a vegetarian, I was apprehensive about visiting the restaurant, but it turned out to be a delightful visit when it comes to food. I tried the following dishes from the menu:

  • Dahi Kebab: The most delicious dahi kebab I’ve had in a long time. It was full of nuts and was cooked perfectly.
  • Soya Tikka: I absolutely fell in love with the soya tikka. The marination was amazing. It was cooked just right; tender yet cooked through.
  • Cheese Grilled Mushroom: These weren’t my favourite. The mushroom could be seasoned better as it was slightly bland, although I understand that it’s not exactly possible to flavour mushroom because of the nature of the fungus but the cheese wasn’t adding much to it.
  • Navratan Biryani: The biryani was delectable. I’m not a biryani person, yet I completely loved this one. The garnishing with crispy friend onions, raisins etc added to the taste.

Although overall, the food was fabulous, the service was a big let down! I had initially ordered just the starters and they took over half an hour to come to my table. And that was just for half of them. It took them another 15 minutes to get the remaining starters. I was told that there would be a delay in service as it was a Sunday but I didn’t get why at all. There were only 2 other tables occupied at the time so probably they were understaffed. But being understaffed on a Sunday is not a good thing because the restaurant industry makes its highest sales over the weekend and none of the staff takes a leave on any weekend.

The location too was a big put off. But since I was in the area and after checking out the great reviews on Zomato, I decided to go anyway.

The food however was definitely the saviour.

Tipu Sultan Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

